Valley natives help YSU shatter Horizon League points record, capture Horizon League title

YSU Men Track and Field Champions

YOUNGSTOWN, Ohio (WKBN)-The Youngstown State men’s track and field team shattered the Horizon League record for the highest winning team score en route to capturing their third Horizon League Outdoor championship in the last four years on Sunday afternoon at Farmers National Bank Field in the Covelli Sports Complex.

In 2018-19, the Penguins claimed the Cross Country title, the Indoor Track and Field Championship and the Outdoor Track and Field title, marking the second triple crown in the last three years.

The mens’ score of 311.5 was the highest in league history and beat the old record by 78.5 points. The Penguins also broke the widest margin of victory in league history with 137 points, beating Milwaukee’s record of 120 set in 2005.

Chad Zallow was named the Most Outstanding Performer on the track while Jamynk Jackson was awarded with the Track Freshman of the Year honors. Zach Gehm was named the Field Freshman of the Year and head coach Brian Gorby was named the Coach of the Year.

Terron Taylor began the day for the Penguins by earning a fifth place finish in the high jump after clearing the bar at 1.94m while Daiquain Watson was sixth with the same height. In the hammer throw, Joe Pfeffer was fourth (52.08m), Andrew Hallof finished fifth (48.67m), and Noah Drudy was sixth (47.19m).

In the triple jump, freshman Samuel Challis finished as the runner-up in with a personal-best jump of 14.24m. DuJuan Taylor was fourth while also recording a personal-best jump of 13.79m.

On the track, the 4×100 relay team of Jamynk Jackson, Collin Harden, Josh Beaumont and Pierlus Stewart won the title for the second consecutive year after finishing in 41.56 seconds. The 4x400m relay team finished as the runner-up with a time of 3:16.95.

Zallow won the 110m hurdles for the third consecutive year after finishing in a Horizon League record time of 13.82 seconds. Harden finished as the runner-up with a personal-best time of 14.16 seconds while Cole Smith earned a fourth place finish (14.37 seconds) and Myron Anderson was fifth with a season-best time of 14.51 seconds.

Harden went on to win the 400m hurdles for the third consecutive year while also becoming the first athlete in Horizon League history to accomplish that feat. Harden also set the league, facility and broke his own school record after finishing in 51.01 seconds.

Zallow also won the 100m dash with a facility record time of 10.57 seconds as the Penguins had the top four finishers. Jackson was second (10.74 seconds), Beaumont finished third (10.81 seconds) and Brendon Lucas was fourth (10.82 seconds).

Chad Zallow closed out his afternoon by winning the 200m dash while also setting the Horizon League and facility record with a time of 21.12 seconds. Jackson was the runner-up with a personal-best time of 21.32 seconds while Beaumont and Lucas finished sixth and seventh.

Cody Sikora finished as the runner-up in the 400m dash with a time of 48.50 seconds and Stewart was third after crossing the finish line in 49.02 seconds.

Sean Peterson won the 800m with a personal-best time of 1:51.64 en route to sweping both the indoor and outdoor titles. Peterson’s time now ranks third all-time in school history.

Ryan Sullivan capped the afternoon with a second place finish in the 5000m after finishing in 14:40.50. Alan Burns earned a third place finish with a personal-best time of 14:46.39. Burns’ now moves into fifth all-time in program history.  

The Penguins return to track in few weeks when select members travel to Jacksonville, Florida to compete in the 1st Round of East Preliminaries.


Copyright 2020 Nexstar Broadcasting, Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Trending on