Tressel & Dials to be honored by Ohio State

Jim Tressel_118012

FILE – In this Nov. 27, 2010, file photo, Ohio State head coach Jim Tressel yells to a referee during second quarter action against Michigan in an NCAA college football game in Columbus, Ohio. Former Ohio State coach Jim Tressel and Kansas State coach Bill Snyder have been selected for induction to the College Football […]

COLUMBUS, Ohio (WKBN) – Ohio State University announced today that former head football coach and current Youngstown State President Jim Tressel is a member of OSU’s Varsity “O” Hall of Fame Class of 2015.

He joins Boardman graduate and former Buckeyes’ basketball standout Terence Dials in the 14-member class.  In five seasons with the Buckeyes, Dials averaged 11.9 points per game and 6.6 rebounds per contest.

Last January, Tressel was inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame Class of 2015.

Tressel led the Buckeyes to a record of 106-22 during his tenure which ran from 2001 to 2010.  That includes a 9-1 record against rival Michigan, and the 2002 National Championship.

Other former Ohio State standouts being inducted this Fall are former football players Joey Galloway, a receiver from 1991 to 1994, and Tim Anderson, a defensive back from 1968 to 1970. , Justin Cook (men’s soccer), Lara Dickenmann (women’s soccer), Natalia Diea (diving), Annabelle Fago (rowing), coach Therese Hession (women’s golf), J Jaggers (wrestling), Perry Martter (wrestling), Teresa Meyers (pistol), Dan Seimetz (baseball) and Paul Tilley (men’s hockey) are the others.

The class will be inducted September 18th at a dinner and introduced to the public at halftime of the Ohio State home football game against Northern Illinois on September 19th.

Copyright 2020 Nexstar Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Trending on