Watch: Wilmington dominates Greenville; cruises to 4th straight title


Ethan Susen scored three touchdowns for the Greyhounds

Greyhounds won their 14th District 10 championship

HERMITAGE, Pennsylvania (WKBN) – Wilmington won their 4th straight District 10 title after their 45-7 win over Greenville. The Greyhounds improve to 10-0. They’ll be matched next week against Chestnut Ridge – who defeated Berlin. Last year, Wilmington got by Chestnut Ridge – 40-33 – on their way to Hershey.

To begin the game, on the third play from scrimmage, Greenville quarterback Jon King was sacked in his end zone by Junior McConahy to give the Greyhounds the first score of the night – a 2-0 lead on a safety – one minute and two seconds into the contest.

After a 33-yard punt return by Ethan Susen to set up shop in Greenville territory. Wilmington struck again – this time from six-yards away by Susen once again.

The next time Susen touched the ball on special teams, he returned a punt 61-yards to give the ‘Hounds a 16-0 lead in the second quarter.

Susen again – this time caught a 36-yard pass from Caelan Bender for the game’s (and his) 3rd touchdown of the day. Wilmington jumps ahead 23-0 midway through the second quarter.

To begin the third quarter – Susen (12), Luke Edwards (12) and Darren Miller (11) all had double-digit yardage runs to set the Greyhounds up at the 2-yard line. From there, Miller finished off the drive to give Wilmington a 30-0 advantage.

When Wilmington possessed the ball again – it was Miller, who ran for 27-yards, to get the Greyhounds down to Greenville’s 20. Bender, then took it, 19 more. Miller closed out the drive with another touchdown (Wilmington, 37-0). The ‘Hounds’ went 5 straight possessions which resulted in touchdowns.

The Trojans’ season ends at 6-6. Greenville has not won a District title since 1999.

First Quarter
W – Greenville sacked in end zone, safety (W 2-0, 10:58)
W – Ethan Susen, 6-yard TD run (W 9-0, 0:00)
Second Quarter
W – Ethan Susen, 61-yard punt return for TD (W 16-0, 9:31)
W – Ethan Susen, 36-yard TD catch from Caelan Bender (W 23-0, 6:42)
Third Quarter
W – Darren Miller, 2-yard TD run (W 30-0, 10:04)
W – Darren Miller, 1-yard TD run (W 37-0, 7:10)
G – Levi Swartz, 50-yard TD run (W 37-7, 5:04)
Fourth Quarter
W – Michel Crastina, 9-yard TD run (W 45-7, 6:42)

Recent District 10 Class AA Champions
2019 – Wilmington
2018 – Wilmington
2017 – Wilmington
2016 – Wilmington
2015 – Hickory
2014 – Hickory
2013 – Hickory
2012 – Hickory
2011 – Hickory
2010 – Sharon
2009 – Wilmington
2008 – Wilmington
2007 – Wilmington
2006 – Wilmington

Copyright 2021 Nexstar Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Play to win local prizes!

Trending on