COLUMBUS, Ohio – An Austintown resident is among the winners of this round’s Vax-2-School contest, which gives $10,000 scholarships to the winners.

The local winner, Evelyn Dukes, joins winners from Niles and Columbiana, but she won’t need her $10,000 scholarship for another 10 years.

Evelyn is a third-grader in Austintown who attends Seaborn Elementary in the Weathersfield School District.

She said she was excited when she found out, as was her mother Julie, who says it allows Evelyn to think about her future even at a young age.

“Sat there on the couch and looked at my mom and I was excited,” Evelyn said.

“You never, ever think that you’re going to win but you put your name in the basket just in case and when we got the phone call, it was just sheer excitement, especially during the holiday season,” Julie said.

Julie wanted to thank everyone involved with the program for making it all a possibility.

The full list of Friday’s winners is below:

  1. Daniel Adams, Holland
  2. Mariel Augsburger, Wapakoneta
  3. Eliesna Bangura, Columbus
  4. Clayton Bernath, North Olmsted
  5. Ryan Brunner, Cincinnati
  6. Chloe Chadwick, Hudson
  7. Renata Chavez Garcia, Mason
  8. Charlotte Dickinson, Vermilion
  9. Carson Dues, Dublin
  10. Evelyn Dukes, Austintown
  11. Alana Dustin, Westerville
  12. Brionna Edwards, Columbus
  13. Sky Evans, Cleveland
  14. Gabriel Foreman, Bellefontaine
  15. Cole Franke, Euclid
  16. Katelynn Frazier, Brook Park
  17. Evan Groh, North Royalton
  18. Benjamin Gurd, Chagrin Falls
  19. Caden Krupinski, Beavercreek
  20. Isabella Messenger, Wooster
  21. Chloe Murphy, Chardon
  22. Amelia Nehlsen, Brecksville
  23. Nidhi Patel, Hilliard
  24. Andrew Putt, Massillon
  25. Jonathan Rosa, Parma
  26. Margaret Selegue, Glenford
  27. Connor Self, Chagrin Falls
  28. Carly Stewart, Solon
  29. Charles Sutton, Wapakoneta
  30. Andre Tabler, Mansfield

Residents ages 5-25 who have at least started the COVID-19 vaccine are eligible to win one of five $100,000 or one of 150 $10,000 scholarships to any Ohio college, university, technical or trade school, or career program of their choice.

The five grand prize winners were also announced on Friday. The $100,000 scholarship winners are:

  1. Audrey Bird, Brecksville 
  2. Rinoa Chech, Canton 
  3. Avery Lagory, Cleves 
  4. Widnelson Miller, Delphos 
  5. Jacob Peters, Conover