High school graduates get scholarships from MVCAP


YOUNGSTOWN, Ohio (WKBN) – Some local students on their way to college got some financial help on Thursday by earning $1,000 scholarships.

The students were honored Thursday at a luncheon at Youngstown State University. The Mahoning Valley College Access Program awarded scholarships to 33 recently graduated high school seniors. It is part of what MVCAP leaders call the “Last Dollar” scholarships.

The students had to be strong in academics and get letters of recommendation to earn the award. But the program’s executive director said it is about much more than just grades.

“A lot of them are athletes. A lot of them are providing services in their community by volunteering for causes that are near and dear to them. It is about being a good community member and being a good student as well,” MVCAP Executive Director Lita Wills said.

Since 2002, MVCAP has awarded scholarships to more than 500 students from Mahoning Valley schools.

The Mahoning Valley College Access Program, founded in 2001, has assisted more than 1,000 students in the past year. They help high school students look for college programs, apply to schools and assist them in finding financial aid.

MVCAP serves students at Warren G. Harding High School in Warren and East High School, Chaney High School and Choffin Career Center in Youngstown.

In addition to the Last Dollar Scholarships, MVCAP also distributes scholarships from the Madigan Fund of the Community Foundation of the Mahoning Valley for students who rank in the second top 10 percent of their class. MVCAP also distributes the Trumbull County Scholarship Fund, which is intended to aid graduates who are part of the foster care system.

MVCAP is supported by The Raymond John Wean Foundation, The Youngstown Foundation, The Ruth Beecher Foundation, The PNC Foundation, The Community Foundation of the Mahoning Valley and the Huntington Bank.Those receiving Last-Dollar Scholarships were:

Tatiaunna Jones, Youngstown Chaney High

Asia Jones-Williams, Youngstown Chaney High

Sabrina Allen, Youngstown Chaney High

Adiel Luis Martinez, Youngstown Chaney High

Ryan McKinney, Younstown Chaney High

Buker Abu-Hashim, Younstown Chaney High

Marlee Fetty, Youngstown Chaney High

Nyla Henderson, Youngstown Chaney High

Shelby Johnson, Choffin Career and Technical

Keilah Bryant, Youngstown Early College

Ka-Luv Cummins, Youngstown East High

Anthony Donnorummo, Youngstown East High

Kyle Miller, Warren G. Harding

Kellsey Hurt, Warren G. Harding

Chelsea Linden, Warren G. Harding

Jennifer Panagis, Warren G. Harding

Jaylynn Scott, Warren G. Harding

Bri’Asia Wright, Warren G. Harding

Nautica Hill, Warren G. Harding

Courtney Lallo, Warren G. Harding

Ariana Shannon, Warren G. Harding

Alexandria Reed-Frank, Warren G. Harding

Adam Butler, Warren G. Harding

Anaya Langford, Warren G. HardingThose receiving Madigan Fund Scholarships through the Community Foundation of the Mahoning Valley were:

Holly Masters, Joseph Badger High School

Amanda Hovanec, Mathews High School

Ariana Williamson, Liberty High School

Sean Croell, Newton Falls High School

Michael Deak, McDonald High SchoolThose receiving Trumbull County Scholarship Fund scholarships:

Maegen Stringer, Warren G. Harding High School

Kaitlyn Soucy, Liberty High School

David Arbuckle, Summit Academy

Bianca Nasidka, Warren G. Harding

Copyright 2021 Nexstar Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Trending on WKBN.com