YOUNGSTOWN, Ohio (WKBN) – Republican Bill Johnson has defeated Democrat Louis Lyras to represent voters in Ohio’s 6th Congressional District, according to unofficial election results.

Johnson has held his congressional seat since 2011. He lives in Marietta.

Johnson said inflation is hurting Ohioans. According to his campaign, Johnson feels that one of the biggest threats to our nation’s economic security is ballooning national debt – a figure he says will only climb higher as a result of the necessary, but expensive, legislative responses to the coronavirus.

“We’re at a 41-plus year high on inflation. What’s driving that? It’s out-of-control spending in Washington, D.C. First of all, Congress controls the purse strings, so we can have a very direct influence on how much money Washington is sending,” Johnson said.

Ohio’s 6th Congressional District is made up of 18 counties in eastern and southeastern Ohio. The district runs along the Pennsylvania, West Virginia and Kentucky borders. The 13 full counties include:

  • Columbiana County
  • Belmont County
  • Carroll County
  • Gallia County
  • Guernsey County
  • Harrison County
  • Jackson County
  • Jefferson County
  • Lawrence County
  • Meigs County
  • Monroe County
  • Noble County
  • Washington County

The district also includes portions of the following counties:

  • Mahoning County
  • Athens County
  • Muskingum County
  • Scioto County
  • Tuscarawas County

WKBN will be updating you with the latest election results. You can see all of the latest results from other races as well on our website.