Gov. Wolf extends stay-at-home order for ‘red phase’ counties until June 4


Twenty-four counties, including Mercer and Lawrence counties, moved toward the yellow phase on Friday

HARRISBURG, Pa. (WHTM) — Gov. Tom Wolf is again extending his stay-at-home order until June 4, but only for counties in the red phase of his three-part reopening plan. The order was previously slated to expire at midnight on Thursday.

Twenty-four counties, including Mercer and Lawrence counties, are expected to move toward the yellow phase on Friday while all remaining counties continue to be under stay-at-home orders.

The counties making the transition to the yellow phase are: Bradford, Cameron, Centre, Clarion, Clearfield, Clinton, Crawford, Elk, Erie, Forest, Jefferson, Lawrence, Lycoming, McKean, Mercer, Montour, Northumberland, Potter, Snyder, Sullivan, Tioga, Union, Venango and Warren.

The terms of the stay-at-home extension remain the same as Wolf’s original order signed on April 1.

The yellow phase allows for the limited reopening of non-life sustaining businesses if proper guidelines are met for the safety of staff, customers, and facilities. Guidelines provided by the state can be found here.

The governor is expected to hold a news conference on Friday announcing the next wave of counties that will enter the yellow phase at a “to-be-determined date.”

Copyright 2020 Nexstar Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Trending on