Local News

Teen driving laws to change in July 2015

COLUMBUS, Ohio (WKBN) - Changes are coming to the teen-driving rule book and will affect all teens in Ohio under the age of 18 who have, or are getting, a driver's license.

Starting July 1, all drivers under the age of 18 are to abide by the following rules:

  • No driving between midnight and 6 a.m., unless that driver is accompanied by a parent or guardian. ┬áThose with valid documentation from work, school or church allowing for travel for activities between these hours are exempt.
  • No driving with more than one non-family member in the car.
  • All passengers must wear safety belts at all times.
  • No use of mobile communication while driving.

According to the National Safety Council, 16-to-18 year-olds are more likely to die in car crashes than others on the road. Although teen drivers only make up 5 percent of all licensed drivers, they are responsible for 13 percent of all fatal crashes.

They are also involved in more accidents before midnight, and 76 percent of nighttime crashes.

The rule change was brought on by Ohio's Drive Toward a Safer Ohio Initiative, and is an effort to increase the level of experience for the state's young drivers.


comments powered by Disqus